February 18, 2009

25 Things About Me

Posted in Uncategorized at 6:10 pm by livethelifeyoudream

 

The “about me” section intimidates me. I see it looming at the side waiting for me to write something witty and wonderful, but I want to say just the right thing.  I’ve lived through a lot. I don’t want to define myself based on what I have done—teacher, wife, daughter—but who I am as a woman.

So, I give you the abbreviated version “about me.”  I promise I will fill the empty page, but for now I give you 25 interesting mundane things about me. Yes, this is taken from facebook, but I’m sure you don’t mind, do you?

  1. Sometimes I wish I had a pocket “Paul”—my husband. He could be in my pocket all day so that I would have someone to share my thoughts with.  I want a pocket version because if he became too opinionated he would still be small enough to stuff in my school bag.
  2. I am an introvert. I need alone time.  
  3. I like to subject my family to “double-blind” tests. These tests usually revolve around food. I will make a dish and change something and then ask if they liked dish A better or dish B. I don’t tell them what I have changed. I find this game fun.
  4. On a day-to-day basis, I don’t wear any make-up. Well, I do wear cover-up under my eyes
  5. because  I’m not a morning person, and  I have to cover up the dark circles somehow.
  6. I only leave myself 15-20 minutes to get ready for work. I shower the night before because of #6.
  7. I don’t eat fruit.
  8. I dream of one day visiting all the Disney parks.
  9. I love Tupperware.
  10. I am honored to be selected for jury duty. I am determining someone’s future; I take my civic responsibility seriously.
  11. 90% of my clothes come from Talbots or Lands’ End. When I find a store that I like, I stick with it.
  12. I have never had a desire to own an iPod, but now that I have an iPod touch, I can’t imagine my life without one.
  13. When I was about ten, I really wanted my name to be Victoria, not so much now.
  14. I have been using the “reuse” grocery bags even before they became popular. I like going “green” and helping the environment.  My husband calls me “light green” because I still buy plastic water bottles.
  15. We have a cat named Alex and we talk about him like he is a real person. Alex is in first grade. Alex rides the bus to school. I might write a book one day about Alex’s adventures. Kind of like the book Dewey.
  16. I long to live in a state without snow and cold winters.
  17. I love teaching, but it doesn’t mean I can’t see myself doing something else later.
  18. I’ve always wanted to go on a game show. Someday I will. I would prefer wheel of fortune, even though I am a horrible speller or Deal or no Deal.
  19. I am a Republican. I know it isn’t popular, but I can’t imagine voting any other way.
  20. I believe that there is a creator.  I am trying to determine how much control he has over my life.
  21. I’m sensitive and take things personally.
  22. I can be critical. I am working on it.
  23. I am seriously considering going back for a second master’s degree.
  24. I could travel for all of my 108 vacation days.
  25. Monday is my favorite day of the week.

 I’m not sure why the numbers are all goofy. I am still learning how to work the program.

2 Comments »

  1. Darcie said,

    That was a very entertaining list. I totally relate with #1, #14, #19 and #22.

  2. Thanks for sharing!!! Love your new blog!


Leave a Reply

