February 17, 2009

Really old

Posted in School Smiles at 5:44 pm by livethelifeyoudream

 

 

I have the ears of a 24 year old.

I kid you not.

Even though I am 30+ my ears seem to have maintained their youthfulness.

Today during seminar—kind of like a study period—a student was playing this high pitched sound from his IPod.

If there is one three things that I just can’t stand it is tapping on the desk during quiet periods, sniffing your nose instead of just getting a tissue, and high pitched noises.

I looked over at him and told him to stop, all the while giving him my firm teacher look.

“Wow, you’re not supposed to be able to hear that.”

I’m not sure why. The class is quiet. The sound is loud.

“Mrs. So-and-so can’t hear it. Mr. Math teacher can’t hear it. When you are over thirty and you get to be really old.”

 Seriously, he said really old and over thirty in the same sentence.

“Your hearing breaks down. You have really good ears. “

Two other students turned around and asked if I was really over thirty.

I shook my head yes and continued with what I was doing.

“Wow, we thought you were 24.”

I smile today, not because my students think of me as young, but because I have learned over the years that there really is a difference between growing up and growing old.

I’m thankful that I am not 24 and the trials and hardships that I have had to endure triumphantly overcome have helped me become who I am today. But I’ll save those stories for another blog entry. 

1 Comment »

  1. Michael said,

    Is that you writting?


Leave a Reply

