February 26, 2009

I’m Breaking all the Rules

Posted in Uncategorized at 12:59 pm by livethelifeyoudream

 

I’m trying to find my bloggy voice today.

I love to read blogs that sound real. I can picture the writer. I laugh with her, rejoice in her success, and empathize with her pain. If you visit other blogs, you know that there are a lot of really great writers out there.

My problem is that it is hard for me to drop some of my writing habits. Perhaps I’ve been a teacher for too long, but finding my bloggy voice has challenged the rule follower in me.

First Up: Contractions. What can I say? I’m a fan of contractions, but they don’t always make it into my writing.  I’ve noticed that by writing out the contraction it makes me sound. . . uptight. Which I am not, ThankYouVeryMuch. Well, maybe a little.

Next: Creative punctuation and sentence structure. Right now my students are learning all of the comma rules. Yes, there are actual rules. Too many, in fact. But, in blog writing some of those rules are relaxed.

Fragments. Ok.

Making up the word bloggy. Not a problem.

A one sentence paragraph actually works in blogdom!

I’m breaking Standard English usage rules left and right! You know what I discovered? I like it. It is kind of freeing.  Maybe blog writers understand that some rules are made to be broken.  

Watch out world I’m livin’ on the edge today!

3 Comments »

  1. nicole said,

    Oh my, I bet my blog makes you crazy! You won the Cheerios giveaway! Yea for you! Send me an email with your address and you’ll get your prize.

  2. Alicia Young said,

    I, too, had to break out of traditional writing conventions when I turned to blogging more frequently. I actually like writing blogs because now I can write a paragraph that is just 2 sentences long! And have misplaced modifiers…the list goes on.

    Live on the edge of Standard English rules!

  3. Isn’t it funny?? Must be the English majors in us. I think I learned by reading a lot of blogs before starting my own. They really need to have a conversational tone, otherwise they get tedious to read.

    Tracie — I just went directly to your site, and I found that there have been some posts that haven’t shown up in my bloglines feedreader!! So now I’m catching up on a few random ones throughout the past couple weeks.

    Good job on the blog! And don’t you HATE the word “bloggy?”


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

